As Anglicans we hold that the Church uses a series of sacred Rites called Sacraments. Sacraments are, according to Anglicans, an outward and visible sign of an inward and spiritual grace.

The number of Sacraments that Anglicans hold to is sometimes hotly debated by ourselves, but the general consensus is that there are:

  • The Two “Sacraments of the Gospel”, namely Holy Baptism and the Holy Eucharist (Communion/Supper of the Lord), which are “Generally Necessarily” to Salvation
  • Other Rites “Not to be counted as Sacraments of the Gospel”, namely, Reconciliation (Confession), Confirmation, Matrimony (Marriage), Anointment (Unction), Ordination (Orders)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s